The Tiruchendur Temple

This is about my trip to Tirunelveli. My family and I went to Tiruchendur to visit the Murugan temple. It is a very beautiful temple situated by the sea shore with lots of shops to look at. I guess after 2 or 3 years i was going to TAiruchendur and the place was looking fabulous.

This not how the temple looks right now. Sorry i could not get the picture of the temple since cam’s were not allowed.

 

All neat , no wet floors, AC in the darshan room , pillars painted with sloka’s on them etc… I must say i was impressed. I walked down the slope staring at the pillars trying to read the sloka written in tamil. While were waiting for our guide , one of the priest people to come, i stared at the crowd in front of us in aghast. It was as if a Kumbh mela was happening. But with god’s grace we somehow managed to get thro’ without losing each other well ahead of the others who were in the front.

I got an awesome full darshan with god and prayed a lot for what i wanted throughout my life. After 2 mins we got up and moved out leaving way for others. By the time we saw all the gods , prayed and were out of the temple i was starving to the core with the soles of my feet aching.

Badly wanting something to eat i asked my aunty to get my some Prasadam . So we bought 2 packets of Adirsam ( a roasted round sweet made from jaggery) and some packets of Puliyodarai and one packet of chakara pongal (sweet pongal) for me. After eating ; what with the driver disappeared and all ; we got some strength back. By that time the driver had come and we were ready to go home!!! 😀

Here is the photos of the Prasadams :

The chakara pongal

The adirsam

The Puliyidarai rice

 

All of you must visit this temple. It is a religious that must be visited often. Your darshan with god will give you so much satisfaction! 😀

Hope you liked the post. Bye bye now!!

One comment on “The Tiruchendur Temple

  1. I’M SO HAPPY THT I WENT TO THIS TEMPLE… THE BEACH IS ALSO TOO GOOD… I COLLECTED SOME SEASHELLS FROM THERE… BEACHES ARE GR8 IN SOUTH INDIA, V DONT HV ‘EM HERE IN PUNJAB… SO DEFINITELY SOUTH INDIA TRIP WAS AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE.

    THNX FOR SHARING THIS PIC OF TEMPLE HARSHIKA… I GOT A NOSTALGIC FEELING.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

